Actuate Programming Journal

Report design from a guy who thinks he knows what he’s doing; you decide . . . .

Describe Your Actuate Experience

with 5 comments

I’ve just noticed that WordPress has implemented Polldaddy polls in posts.  I’ll try to restrain myself, but I’m generally interested in the readers that end up here at the Actuate Journal.  Please share:

Polldaddy polls don’t look so great with long answers.  I have truncated the options in the poll to make it readable.  Below are the more descriptive versions:

  • Specifically trained in and working primarily as an Actuate Developer
  • Using OEM version of Actuate; primarily I develop in the tool Actuate is embedded in
  • Incidentally using or associated with Actuate; I’m primarily a java|.NET|C++ developer
  • I’m a recruiter that found your articles on Interviewer|Interviewee Questions
  • Not an Actuate developer

Feel free to expand on your answer in the comments.

Written by Douglas

20090205 at 09:48 am

Posted in 24896

Tagged with ,

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m a learn-by-doing professional who grew up with Access in the ’90’s and has moved into using Actuate with Oracle in the last couple years, working with a “get official training and go by the book” developer. While I have learned how to get things done, I find Actuate extremely frustrating in its retention of parts no longer needed and the need to go field-by-field to get values when the view behind the report changes. And subreports and libraries, ga-a-a-ah! I can make them work, but could put together an Access report in a fraction of the time needed in Actuate. I seem to have job security here, but I’m enjoying it less!

    Tobi

    20091007 at 13:24 pm

  2. @tobi I find Actuate frustrating at times as well. But I’m curious about what you mean by “field-by-field when the view…changes”.

    Douglas

    20091007 at 18:18 pm

  3. I’ve got report #1 that uses view A. Report #2 is similar to the first, but uses view B, same dozen or so heading fields, different details. So I change the data source, maybe remove the details that are different then do a build, which brings up the whole list of common fields which all need to be changed to reflect view B. Then repeat for reports #3, 4, 5 … Tedium, but as I say, job security.

    Tobi

    20091008 at 05:55 am

  4. Is anyone interested in buying Actuate.net – ActuateDownloads.com and ActuateToolbox.com?

    I’ve owned them for years, but am finally retiring, so they are now available.

    I have been using Actuate since Version 2.1 – At American Express my Sales Rep was Ilene Vogt and the Sales Tech was Paul Clenahan. I’ve discovered that Actuate is truly a visionary product. The others jump on board as soon as they can, but it is generally Actuate who has consistently lead the pack.

    Robert Andrews

    20120126 at 16:45 pm

  5. having served in the IDF for 3 years, let me tell you that a so called “rubber bullet”, is NOT something you’ll want to get hit by. it is actually a potentially lethal armament. to make it less deadly it is fired as a cluster of 3 pallets, so the energy is dispersed between them (but also making it impossible to actually aim them). a head injury by one of these can very much kill you.nthat’s why they are only used as a last resort, when the soldiers are in a life threatening situation. (and if you’ve ever seen one of those crowds up close – thousands of people hurling rocks at you, having to cower behind the armred Hummer doors, knowing that you are the last line between that angry mob and a peaceful bordering israeli town – well… it sucks.) Come on http://tropaadet.dk/wigginswhitfield51081830


Leave a Reply

