Actuate Programming Journal

Report design from a guy who thinks he knows what he’s doing; you decide . . . .

Comments in Code

leave a comment »

In the begining I always wanted to do block comments in Actuate and lots of my students asked about it. Unless there is something in v8 that I haven’t seen (really haven’t looked since I am habitual and lazy), you still can’t. For me one little tick mark is hard to see and I have spent more hours that I would like to recount debugging lines of code that were already commented out.

So I don’t use a tick mark anymore–I use three:

Hard to Read

Function Fetch( ) As AcDataRow
Set Fetch = Super::Fetch( )
' Insert your code here
End Function

Easier to Read

Function Fetch( ) As AcDataRow
Set Fetch = Super::Fetch( )

''' Insert your code here

End Function

Since Actuate basic isn’t color coded it makes it alot easier for my eyes to pick up.

Written by Douglas

20060111 at 15:21 pm

Posted in Whitespace

Leave a Reply

